The astoundingly early Honeyberry (haskap)

If you have room for two shrubs in your yard, consider the Honeyberry – the earliest fruit I harvested in 2011. They’re described as tasting like a mix between a blueberry and a currant – so, with a bit of tartness to them. That’s a fairly accurate description… I quite liked them, anyway! Others wanted sugar added.

These are the two smaller of the commercially-released varieties from the University of Saskatchewan. Berry Blue and Blue Belle? They should be ~4-6′ tall at maturity.

May 6: first flower.

May 11: whole bush in flower.

June 2: green fruit already present.

June 13: ripening.

June 24: ready to eat.

About 8 oz total yield from two first-year shrubs, maybe 16″ high each.

MUTANT!!!

VULGAR MUTANT!!!

October 4: Settling down for the winter.

One thought on “The astoundingly early Honeyberry (haskap)

  1. I just read about honeyberries for the first time a week ago, and I’ve been dying to try them! I’m delighted to know you got a crop even from your first-year bushes. I’ve got a lot on my plate already for this spring, but I think I’m just going to have to add some honeyberries to the mix… Thanks for all the great pictures!

Leave a Reply

