Holy Alpaca

From Spinning

I call this Holy Alpaca because it’s the samples I got in the spinning class at Sacred Heart Monastery in Richardton, ND. They raise alpacas and have the fiber processed by a mill in South Dakota. I also call this Holy Alpaca because it’s a corespun boucle and it kinda looks like there’s holes in it, get it? (I am easily amused.)

It’s not quite done yet – there was an ounce of fawn as well that I haven’t got to. Each is one ounce and approx 75 yds. I love the way corespinning stretches small amounts of fiber.

The technique is one I learned in Watertown from Patsy Zawistowski’s “Five Quick Novelty Yarns” class. Basically you corespin onto sewing thread; you can bunch up the fiber as you spin for a thick boucle, or leave it as is for a wispier one (I left it as is.) Then you ply with sewing thread again. Quick and satisfying.

Leave a Reply

