PDC Fiber

Teasel

This, my friends, is a Teasel.  In its spiky form you can see the ancestor of cards and combs and all of the other horrifically-clawed, tetanus-shot-requiring modern tools of fiber processing. It is the origin of the verb “tease”, as in “to tease out the ends of a knot.” Don’t teased bangs look a lot like a fluffy rolag? I found this growing wild in the Willows outdoor learning center at the Chatfield School in MI – another thing I have never seen before! At this point the spines are soft and flexible, but as the head dried they became stiff and perfect for combing out the tips of locks.

Basswood inner bark fiber

This, also from the willows, is the inner bark of the basswood tree – closely related to one of my favorite trees, the linden. This is one of the strongest fibers to be found in nature – it makes amazing rope. Like many natural plant fibers it’s a bit hard to extract into this form – Peter of the Willows center said these branches had fallen into a street, so the cars driving over them did most of the work of cracking the bark off. This is something I’d definitely like to try myself.

From Spinning

I spun this with my new Golding  in the airport and at the PDC talent show, from the first roving I ever bought – a bicolor wool I got at the NCFF last year. I’ve completely forgotten the breeds but I plan to get some more in a couple weeks – the color is lovely.

From Spinning
Leave a Reply

