Wild Food Summit 2009

The Wild Foods Summit 2009 is being held at the White Earth Rediscovery Center in Waubun, MN, just east of Fargo, ND, June 17-20.  A wild foods event that isn’t in Oregon! Awesome! And what’s even cooler – I recognize two of the instructors’ names.

Steve Dahlberg – I joined the Northern Plains Sustainable Agriculture Society just to hear him speak about the fruits he grows on his zone 3 farm, and still have the handout from his session. Probably not coincidentally, he was also a founding member of the Permaculture Research Institute – Cold Climate, the permaculture group closest to me geographically.

Sam Thayer wrote The Forager’s Harvest: A Guide to Identifying, Harvesting and Preparing Edible Wild Plants and frequently appears in the pages of Countryside Magazine and Small Stock Journal, my favorite of the homesteading magazines (it’s got Mother Earth News beat all to heck, let me tell you.)

I am seriously considering attending this… although I reserve the right to stash a bag of granola in my car in case of emergency. Primitive camping is not my favoritest activity of all time, especially if accompanied by uncertainty of tummy.

Leave a Reply

