I feel like I should make up a tshirt saying “Ask me about Edible Landscaping!”

“or Permaculture!” 

Or, at the very least, buttons.

The last of the season’s Garden Club tours were last night, and it was heartening to see all of the fruit planted in people’s backyards. The larger property outside of town had apples, plums, cherries and raspberries as I would expect, but even the people in town managed to fit in a grape here, raspberries there, rhubarb tucked into a side border or even an entire row of their garden, a crabapple or 1-2 full sized apple trees. I even saw a small Flowering Almond bush with fuzzy fruits – the almonds aren’t particularly tasty, but as I’m planning on putting in hazelnuts next year it’s fun to see any success with nuts in this area.

Interestingly enough, the people with the grapes didn’t know they were grapes until a wandering Garden Club member told them. See why you should share your beautiful plants with others, people? You learn stuff! 😉

Now we just need to work on expanding to the front yards. I think more people would be interested in growing fruits and edible perennials for themselves if they just knew of other examples, which is really hard if all examples are tucked away in people’s private spaces. Eat the View!

2 thoughts on “I feel like I should make up a tshirt saying “Ask me about Edible Landscaping!”

  1. Susannah says:

    Hi,
    I’m looking for tips on design, and especially good images that help me envision how I can renovate my front yard so it’s both productive and aesthetically pleasing. I’ve read a few books, but I’m looking for pictures of working guilds (especially plants I can grow in a cold climate). I’m about to put in a bunch of fruit trees and am having trouble deciding what to plant around them.

    Many thanks for any advice you can give!
    Susannah
    Northfield, MN

  2. Hi! I am a Carleton alum. Very cool.

    “Gaia’s Garden” by Toby Hemenway has diagrams of a few example guilds centering around fruit trees, and spends quite a bit of time on permaculture design – so I would definitely recommend that one for design. “Edible Forest Gardens” by Dave Jacke and Eric Toensmeier would also be valuable, especially volume 2; it’s a much heavier textbook-sized volume, but it goes as indepth as you could possibly need, including plant variety recommendations.

    Photos – MidwestPermaculture.com’s “Permaculture Rain Gardens and Yard Transformation” photos, linked to on their front page, show a quite aesthetically-pleasing yard redesign that incorporates rainwater harvesting. I think this is a very useful thing to consider in any design, and would certainly work with your fruit trees.

Leave a Reply

