Banoffee Pie

 — A genuine Irish recipe to go with the genuine Irish sheep in the new header picture —

As I seem to have hit that point in my career where I qualify for business travel, I have decided to collect recipes as souvenirs. So much more useful than the traditional dust-collectors, they are great for throwing an ethnic dinner party for your friends when you return. (See the Brasilian version here. )

A lot of the Irish food seemed pretty similar to the traditions of my hometown, but I did find one thing pretty new and exciting – Banoffee Pie – a dessert of doce de leite, bananas and whipped cream. Simple and delicious.

Banoffee Pie

  • 1 to 1.5 tins of prepared doce de leite / dulce de leche / condensed milk caramel / toffee / whatever you call it… see below
  • 3 large to 5 small bananas
  • 1 pastry or crumb crust, baked and cooled, ready for filling
  • 1 pint of whipping cream plus sugar to taste

First, prepare the doce de leite.  While there are many ways to make this caramel, Ian Dowding, the chef credited with the recipe, has an extremely easy way that allows for making it ahead (scroll to the bottom of this page). While boiling cans of sweetened condensed milk on the stovetop can be extremely dangerous if the water boils dry, heating the cans in the oven offers a safe way to achieve the same result in bulk. If you don’t have time to make it ahead, you could try this version which offers stovetop directions.

To assemble the pie, spread the cooled doce de leite in the pie crust. Slice the bananas in half lengthwise, and layer over the caramel. Whip the cream with sugar to taste, and spread over the bananas. Serve chilled, in small slices.

 Everyone at home loved this – to the exclusion of all other pies at my birthday dessert buffet…

2 thoughts on “Banoffee Pie

  1. janetching says:

    I tried banoffee pie for the first time in Covent Garden, London over 10 yrs ago. That restaurant is no longer exist. Unforgettable dessert, I just had finished my university that time. Now I hope I will try to make one myself to recall those nice memories. Thx for the recipe. Janet

Leave a Reply

